Commonwealth PhD Scholarships

Canon Collins Trust acts as a nominating agency for Commonwealth Scholarships. We annually nominate 14 individuals for fully-funded Commonwealth Scholarships for PhD study at any UK university.

Scholarships are offered under six development themes and all candidates must apply under one of these themes:

  • Science and technology for development
  • Strengthening health systems and capacity
  • Promoting global prosperity
  • Strengthening global peace, security and governance
  • Strengthening resilience and response to crises
  • Access, inclusion and opportunity

Are you eligible?

To apply for this scholarship through Canon Collins Trust you must:

  • Be a national of, or have refugee status, and  be permanently resident in one of the following countries: Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique or Zambia
  • By October 2022, hold a first degree of at least upper second class (2:1) honours standard, or a second class (2:2) degree and a relevant postgraduate qualification (a Master’s degree)
  • Have the support of a potential supervisor from at least one UK university listed in your application form
  • Be unable to afford to study in the UK without this scholarship
  • NOT be registered for a PhD, or an MPhil leading to a PhD, at a UK university or in your home country before September/October 2023
  • Have provided all supporting documentation in the required format. Applications with any outstanding documents or reference letters will not be considered!

For full eligibility criteria please see the Commonwealth PhD Scholarships terms and conditions

The CSC is commited to administering and managing its scholarships in a fair and transparent manner. For further information, see the CSC anti-fraud policy.

For more information, please read the information on the Commonwealth Scholarship Commission Website.

How to apply

You must make your application using the Commonwealth Scholarship Commission’s (CSC) online application system, identifying the Canon Collins Trust as your nominating body.

Applications for Commonwealth PhD Scholarships (for least developed countries and fragile states) for the academic year 2024/25 are closed