Voicing Resistance Annual Scholar's Conference Video

From the blissful weather, to the lively conversations and stirring keynotes, the event was a memorable success. It was a special honour to have Martin Buck of the Ros Moger and Terry Furlong Scholarship programme inaugurate the proceedings. A warm thank you to all our supporters for making this event the success it was; and to our scholars and alum for participating so wholeheartedly in the event. Watch our video to see some of the highlights of the weekend.

This year’s winners of the scholars’ “Impact Award” and alumnis’ “Change Makers Award” received R30,000 toward their social impact project. The 2019 Scholars’ Impact Award went to PhD sociology scholar Eli Kodisang for his work to politically organise reclaimers (waste pickers) through the African Reclaimers Organisation. This year’s Change Maker Award went to Wonga Hexana for KeyCare, his project to deliver sanitary pads to schoolgirls.